Text Commands

There are many actions that you can perform by typing commands. Some of these, in some cases, may be more expedient to use than the user interface controls provided. The functions of these commands vary greatly in scope, from emoting actions to room management and moderating. Refer to this item regularly to stay familiar with these commands.

Personal Functions for Non-Privileged Users

The following are commands that any user may perform, whether they have special privileges in a channel or not.

  • /me [text]: Use this to indicate that you are (virtually) performing an action. For instance, "/me presses snooze on the alarm clock" would display the text: "[your username] presses snooze on the alarm clock".
  • /join [room]: Use this to join a room, where [room] is name of an existing room on our network.
  • /part: Use this to exit the room you are in -- /leave, /q, and /close are equivalent commands.
  • /list: This command displays the list of available chat rooms.
  • /away: Use this command to set "away" status, which will display a "zZz" icon next to your name in the user list. Use /unaway, or interact with the channel by typing a message, to reverse this.
  • /ignore [user]: Use this to ignore a given user. Reverse with /unignore [user], or display your list of ignored users with /ignores.
  • /clear: This will clear all previous text from the screen -- but only for you.

Privileged Room Functions

The following are commands that room owners and moderators can perform.

  • /topic [insert text here]: This changes the room's topic to [insert text here].
  • /invite [user] [room]: Use this to invite a given user (according to their username on our network), who is currently logged in, to the chat room from which you issued the command, or the room you specify.
  • /kick [user] [reason]: Kicks the user out of the room from which the command was issued. The reason is optional, but the user will see it, if specified.
  • /ban [user]: Bans the user from the room from which the command was issued.
  • /tban [duration] [user]: Bans the user specified from the room from which the command was issued, but only for the specified duration. Duration is specified in seconds, minutes, or days, in the form of "30M" or "7D" or "60S".
  • /unban [user]: Unbans the user from the room from which the command was issued.
  • /mute [user]: Mutes the user specified in the room from which the command was issued.
  • /tmute [duration] [user]: Mutes the user specified, in the room from which the command was issued, for [duration], similar to /tban above.
  • /unmute [user]: Unmutes the user specified in the room from which the command was issued.
  • /voice [users]: Temporarily (until the user leaves the channel) gives the user specified permission to speak in the channel from which the command was issued. This is helpful for moderated (see the Room Modes item for details) channels.
  • /devoice [users]: Removes temporarily granted permission to speak from a user. Does not restrict a user from speaking if the channel is not moderated (see the Room Modes item for details).

The following are commands that only room owners can perform, dealing with assigning permanent (until removed by the owner) permissions within a given channel.

  • /addmod [user]: Adds [user] to the permanent (until removed by the channel owner) moderator list.
  • /delmod [user]: Removes [user] from the moderator list.
  • /addvip [user]: Adds [user] to the permanent (until removed by the channel owner) VIP list.
  • /delvip [user]: Removes [user] from the VIP list.